My First #British #Christmas 

  
I took a couple of days off blogging to fully enjoy the holidays and experience my first British Christmas and I must say that while I love American Christmas celebrations, thr British do Christmas just as well if not slightly more family oriented. 

On Christmas Eve, Alan and I did some last minute shopping and also pre-cooked the ham we’d bought from our local butcher’s Balson’s. It was the first time either of us had cooked a ham from its raw state and I was super excited at the prospect of this. It’s much easier than I though! 

 

british christmas

Our ham was too big to fit in one pot do we boiled it in two chunks.


We also had a nice nighttime game of Scrabble before heading to bed to wait for Christmas morn.

  
Christmas morning I received a few goodies from Alan in my Christmas sock…

   
Alan and I spent Christmas Day with his folks here at their home where we are living temporarily and just had a fabulous day of it. We cooked a lovely breakfast together of Brioche French Toast topped with a dusting of icing sugar and mixed berries and a drizzle of maple syrup. So delicious! 

   
 
We opened a couple of gifts before cooking dinner. Our tree looked so lovely the night before…

 

British Christmas

gifts under the tree on Christmas Eve

  
british christmas

Christmas Eve shot of the tree.

 
British Christmas

Christmas tree selfie

  
british christmas

Posing with one of the gifts I opened…

  
Our dinner was scrumptious though slightly less traditional. Since we’d had a turkey back in November at our Thanksgiving celebration we’d opted for having a ham which worked out well with the rest of our food. 

 

british christmas

Cooking pigs in a blanket and carrot & swede mash.

  
british christmas

Our table spread with everything including Christmas crackers.

  
british christmas

Our delicious Christmas meal of Cola & Mustard glazed ham, roast potato & parsnips, carrot & swede mash, braised red cabbage & apples relish, pigs in blankets, brussels sprouts, cranberry sauce , and bread sauce.

I’m already looking forward to the next Christmas! The bad cracker jokes, watching Christmas specials on the telly, playing scrabble with my hubby, it was all lovely! 

Here are a few silly Christmas hat pics because they have to be done! 

   

  

  

  

What was your Chrismas like? Do you have any interesting out of the norm traditions? 

Boxing Day was spent at my brother in laws opening more gifts, eating good food and watching movies and shows. 

We returned home yesterday and went for a walk around town a bit. Today we will be going out to watch the new Star Wars movie so expect to hear my reaction tomorrow! 

Cheers and Happy Holidays! 

Nadia xoxo

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. © 2015 Walks in Beauty 

PHOTOGRAPHY BY NADIA M. PEREZ BUGLER
  

16 thoughts on “My First #British #Christmas 

    • Ana, thank you so much. I think my favourite part was gathering round the table to eat, open the crackers and having a good laugh and quality family time with my in-laws.🙂 I’m from the US originally but am married to a wonderful Englishman.🙂 xx

      Like

  1. Looks like you had a fabulous Christmas! For me, that’s what it’s all about, family time, cosiness, no stress … just happiness! My dad passed away a few years ago. He used to cook Christmas eve dinner. It’s a special tradition that my fiancee and I keep alive in his memory. We now cook this dinner for my mum.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

