Christmas in Lyme Regis: Lights and Window Displays

christmas in lyme regis

 

Ever since I was a child I always loved looking at the lights and window displays in shops and around the towns/cities I lived in. Coming from America a Christmas display was always a big deal and I still remember the magical feeling of seeing New York City all ‘done up’ for Christmas and all the local shops in the towns I’d lived in decorated plus the light displays at the houses along the streets. I’ve been enjoying seeing the lights in Bridport, my new home, and thought it would be interesting to see what one of my favourite coastal towns, Lyme Regis, had done for flair during the festive season. So off Alan and I went today to see as well as become battered by the strong winds when we stopped at the Cobb…

Lyme Regis at Christmas

One of my favourite cottages near the Cobb had its windows all done up.

Lyme Regis at Christmas

Aren’t they magnificent?

Lyme Regis at Christmas

An oddly large fairy at the Harbour Inn window…

Lyme Regis at Christmas

Just as the dark was about to set in…

Lyme Regis at Christmas

Looking up the High Street.

Lyme Regis at Christmas

In total darkness, lights all a flicker…

Lyme Regis at Christmas

Such a lovely winter wonderland in his display…

Lyme Regis at Christmas

White animals with a blue lit tree…

Lyme Regis at Christmas

Lyme’s lovely tree…

Lyme Regis at Christmas

A bit dark but you can just see my hubby with the tree…

Lyme Regis at Christmas

And then he had to take one of me…

Lyme Regis at Christmas

One together for posterity…

Lyme Regis at Christmas

Best fudge in town! Loved their red and blue lights!

Lyme Regis at Christmas

Christmas trees forming an arch way…

Lyme Regis at Christmas

The best kind of light, natural light from the moon lighting up the sea…

Lyme Regis at Christmas

Looking back up through the small path toward the High Street…

Lyme Regis at Christmas

Just a night-time scene…

Lyme Regis at Christmas

Hubby enjoying the view…

Lyme Regis at Christmas

I think this was my favourite display by far on the High Street…

Lyme Regis at Christmas

The other half of that display…

Lyme Regis at Christmas

And being on the Jurassic Coast, who could forget some dinos?

Lyme Regis at Christmas

A Christmassy T-Rex…

 

8 thoughts on “Christmas in Lyme Regis: Lights and Window Displays

  1. Since we did not have christmas trees growing up, my mum made up for it by buying as many christmas lights as possible so for me it’s more christmas lights than the tree or presents. I love seeing shops (and homes) display their christmas lights.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

