#Cheddar #Potato #Pie #Recipe

Cheddar Potato Pie Recipe

 

Most of you know how much I love to cook and share recipes when I can and here I have decided to share at least one recipe a week with you. Not sure yet if I want to feature it always on a Sunday (might do it more for a weekly Monday post) but for this week I shall be posting this one today. This recipe is adapted from a recipe found on the back of an A1 steak sauce bottle. Anyone in my family knows how much I love steak sauce and here in the US A1 is my favourite brand. However, for the sake of making it easier on anyone reading this blog, your favourite brand of steak/brown sauce will do well to substitute if you can’t find A1 in your local supermarket or grocer’s. So, feel free to use Heinz or HP sauce to substitute. The recipe in its original form is rather simple but I like to add a little more to such things so I will share with you my own take on this simple but delicious dish.

 

cheddar potato pie 1

 

CHEDDAR POTATO PIE
Prep Time: 15 minutes
Total Cook Time:
30 minutes
Serves: 
4

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb lean ground beef
  • 1 onion, choopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup sliced mushrooms
  • fresh or dried oregano
  • splash of Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce
  • 2 cups hot mashed potatoes
  • 1 cup shredded red cheddar cheese

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 350ºF .
  2. Saute mushrooms, onion and garlic over low to medium heat and add meat and season with salt, pepper and Worcestershire sauce to taste. Once onion is slightly translucent in large skillet; drain. Add steak sauce and bring to a boil. Remove from heat.
  3. Spoon into 1 1/2 qt. baking dish and spread evenly.
  4. Spoon prepared mashed potatoes on top and spread evenly over meat mixture.
  5. Sprinkle cheddar cheese on top and sprinkle mixed dried herbs over the cheese.
  6. Bake 12 to 15 minutes or until heated through (165ºF).

It’s really quite an easy recipe to follow and a quick meal to prepare. Just a few notes on my personal preparation; for the hot mashed potatoes I used some nice red potatoes and made my mash from scratch. I dislike packaged potatoes but if you’re pressed for time or don’t like to make your own mashed potatoes you can always use the package variety. I don’t recommend it at all as fresh ingredients are always the healthier option and more flavourful. Regarding the herbs I also used fresh herbs in the meat mixture. If you’re vegan or vegetarian, perhaps a nice vegan meat substitute (vegan mince) would work very nicely for this pie and as for the cheese I would use the Daiya brand over others but any other cheese alternative would probably work as well. If you’re not a fan of ground beef, chicken, turkey, lamb or pork would be other alternatives for this simple style pie.

I’d love to see what you do differently if you decide to adapt this recipe yourself or if you use it as is please share a photo on Instagram or Twitter using the hashtag #wlksinbeautyrecipes. I’d love to see who’s making food they find here.

I served this with a nice summer vegetable medley and had a glass of cranberry-raspberry juice with it.

cheddar potato pie 2

 

Bon apetit!
Cheers,
Nadia xo

Photography by: Nadia M. Perez Bugler
Recipe adapted from: A1 Sauce Bottle
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED ©MMXV

One thought on “#Cheddar #Potato #Pie #Recipe

Leave a Reply

