Life and #ICAD2015…

icad card 1 blog post

Life, as depicted in my artwork above, has been a bit of a whirlwind lately for me. Visa application prep, missing and being far away from my hubby, just everything has been a jumble of mixed emotions and has felt like I’ve been on a roller coaster these last few months. Still, life is indeed beautiful and full of hope. I’m very excited as I have decided to take part in this year’s ICAD 2015 art challenge again. I took part but didn’t stay the course back in 2012 when ICAD was just on its second year running. You can see a few of the cards I made featured in my old blog, Mes Petites Creations. It’s cool to see how my artwork has changed in the course of three years.

ICAD was started by artist Tammy of the Daisy Yellow blog back in 2011 and stands for Index Card A Day. On her website you can find a full explanation about ICAD2015 as well as prompts for the week, daily prompts, tips and more. If you’ve never done any art journalling but have always wanted to try it, Daisy Yellow is a great blog for the beginner to learn from. I found Tammy’s blog back in 2012 when I was starting to dabble in art journalling and love it!

The image above is my 1st card of the 61 day challenge and incorporated elements from Tammy’s prompts. I used some brush pens I have for the lettering, magazine cut outs and pen drawings to embellish.

The best part of ICAD??? Being able to express oneself in absolutely any artistic medium without restrictions! Doing things like what I did in the above image, using all the different materials you have available. It’s a great way to practise new techniques, get out of our comfort zones and just create to our heart’s content. It’s also inspiring!

I made the card below in just 5 minutes using some new paint markers, inspired having done the first icad card today and my new found love of practising lettering. I have a long way to go yet but at least I’m getting out of my comfort zone and creating without restraints! It’s a wonderful feeling!

So, won’t you join us in this creative venture? If you want to learn more about ICAD just click any of the links above or the image link on the sidebar which will take you right to Tammy’s ICAD Index for all the news on how to start. Even if you don’t start today or do the whole challenge, just doing any amount of it will be rewarding in and of itself. Give it a try!

I’ll be doing more blog posts about ICAD weekly, sharing my cards on here at the end of each week. You can also see my cards on my personal instagram account, @mrsnadiabugler. Tootles!

Cheers!

Nadia xo

 

MATERIALS USED IN INDEX CARD:
Faber Castell Artist Pitt Pen, brush tip in Black (central word ‘life’), fineliner (chevron in upper left)
Art Performance Dual Brush Pens in Fleshy Pink, Sky Blue & Grey (‘life’ lettering background and chevron on lower right)
— Magazine cut outs
— 3×5 plain white index card

MATERIALS USED IN NOTECARD:
–White linen note card from a set purchased at Tuesday Morning
PAINTERS paint markers in Hot Pink and Neon Blue

 

Leave a Reply

