#Mother’s #Day at Home

mothersday-vintageimage-Graphics-Fairypk

As Alan and I continue my visa application process I’m happy to be able to say that I finally have gotten to spend Mother’s Day with my mom today after two years of not having been home for the occasion. Two years ago on Mother’s Day I was in the Netherlands and on my way back to the UK for a bit and last year I was with my hubby in the UK. So, today I made a recipe from the Smitten Kitchen blog which I’d seen posted on their Facebook page yesterday. I altered the cooking method slightly as it is way too hot to turn the oven on today in Florida so I cooked it on the stove top (hob for my UK readers). The recipe I used was Deb’s Spinach and Cheese Strata. I didn’t make it ahead but rather made it on a heavy & deep pan which worked really well and cooked through only partly covered so that it cooked evenly as it wasn’t going in the oven. *Word of caution: cook on a low heat setting and watch it like a hawk as mine got slightly burnt on the bottom because of the bread and cheese. Still, it turned out very tasty and I think I may make another one again soon! I made this for a Mother’s Day brunch to share with my folks.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Spinach and Cheese Strata

After we had our lovely brunch, my mom opened her card I’d made her and gifts I got her. She really enjoyed the card with our picture on the front from when I was around or nearly a year old. What did you all do for your mothers? Perhaps later today we will watch a film or something but so far it is just a chilled day.

Processed with VSCOcam with s1 preset

Card and gifts for my mom

I hope all the mother’s celebrating today will have a beautiful day and will be very spoilt indeed! Happy Mother’s Day 2015!

 

PHOTOS BY: Nadia M. Perez Bugler
TAKEN WITH: iPhone 5s, VSCO Cam App
TITLE GRAPHIC: Mother With Sleeping Child from a 1920 Children’s Song Book via The Graphics Fairy

 

2 thoughts on “#Mother’s #Day at Home

Leave a Reply

