It’s all about that #coffee!

coffee Every now and then one comes across a place that makes the perfect cup of coffee that, as much as one wants to keep it to herself, she just can’t. Amid Giants and Idols is one such place. From the moment I had my first cup I was hooked and I can’t wait to return to Lyme Regis on the outermost western edge of Dorset. Alan and I first came across them while walking along the promenade at the end of August when we saw their little stand and I had a sudden hankering for coffee. Well, I’ll tell you, that first cup was memorable for two reasons: first, it was a damn good cup of joe but secondly, as I went to reach for the sugar to put in the latte I’d ordered the proprietor stopped me and told me to taste it without sugar first. So, I did and boy was I amazed! Turns out that a good roast needs nothing extra. Their roasts are just incredible. That first cup set my head to whirling and a couple of weeks later when I went into Lyme on my own and waited for Alan to meet me, I went in search of the shop and settled in for a nice cup of liquid pleasure.

Processed with VSCOcam with s1 preset A beautiful latte which I enjoyed slowly, taking in my surroundings, the beauty and subtlety of it all. Creamy and luxurious are the words that come to mind when I recall this gorgeous drink. Have a look at Amid Giants and Idols beautiful interior…

Processed with VSCOcam with f3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with k3 preset Having a cup of coffee in this spot is like sitting in your own living room, listening to the music and watching the passersby. The proprietor is very friendly and more than willing to chat about the different varieties of roasts available and what sets their artisan coffee apart from your run of the mill coffee joints.

One last cup…of espresso that is, tangy and robust in flavour, this was a shot of silky seduction. Enjoy!

Processed with VSCOcam with s3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with t3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with p8 preset

 

 

Leave a Reply

