#Retro #Kitchen #Decor: #British #Vintage and #Seaside

retro kitchen decor

It’s no secret that Bridport is very nearly a seaside town without actually being right on the sea. West Bay is within walking distance from town and many locals frequent the seaside towns and villages among the Jurassic coast so it is fitting that our kitchen and home decor reflect this aspect of our lives. On our last outing to Lyme Regis I picked up a few retro postcards and seaside-y bits from various shops including Seasalt and Pug and Puffin. A life by the sea seems to evoke a slower pace, a bit more old-fashioned at times, and this really appeals to me.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I have to confess that I am hopelessly flawed and cave whenever I see these types of postcards and retro goodies around! It’s got to be a disease with me! So much so that I have often found duplicates, even TRIPLICATES in my postcard stash and in an event coordinated by a pen pal group I’m part of on Facebook I finally put some of them to good use but I always end up with more somehow. The Seasalt bags were on sale the last time we went to Lyme and I just HAD to have one! How could I not? They are so cute and great for shopping. Also got a retro baking recipes book which I’m hoping to start going through and sharing my bake-tastic skills with you all sometime down the road on future blog posts.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Now, our kitchen is mostly decorated in red, white and chrome but the main walls are just plain white at present and I had the idea of decorating the walls with food themed retro postcards and other fun visual ephemera so today I thought I’d pull all those postcards out and place them on the wall with tacky putty until I have matching frames for them all. I strategically placed them where I’ll eventually be hanging them anyway so I know what it will look like. I loved the blue and white beach sign postcards so much that we got from Pug and Puffin that I could not pass them up!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

So, what do you do when you want to know what something will look like once placed on your walls? Grab your Pritt Poster Buddies putty, your wall art and get to tacking them up there!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

And voila! Here’s how mine turned out…I had one left over that doesn’t quite fit the bill so I’ll have to think of what to do with it at a later date but I placed 6 of the horizontal ones next to my Mollie Makes calendar (three on either side), making it a nice balance below my tea kettle clock. There’s a lot of white wall space in the kitchen so to make it look less blank I put the three blue and white sign postcards on the opposite facing wall to kind of close it in. They look quite nice with the table in front when viewed from the doorway between the kitchen and lounge, don’t you think?🙂

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

That’s my overcast afternoon project for the day! Don’t forget to follow us on Facebook for a chance to enter our giveaways this month and follow us on Instagram as well! Happy scrolling and good luck!

 

Cheers,

Nadia xx

 

Photography by Nadia M. Perez Bugler
Equipment: iPhone 5s & VSCO Cam App
©2014 Walks in Beauty by Nadia M. Perez Bugler
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

2 thoughts on “#Retro #Kitchen #Decor: #British #Vintage and #Seaside

    • Thank you! I rather liked that bit too! I need to find more interesting things to put on the other wall and then the main wall I want to put a big black board up and then surround it with more vintage kitchen art and ephemera.🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

