#Reading, #Life and #Dorset dreaming…

read

You’re probably wondering what ‘Dorset Dreaming’ has to do with reading and life…bear with me, I’ll get to that soon. I’ve come to the realisation lately that I no longer read enough. A lot of my time is spent on social media, clicking away and while I ‘read’ whatever is there in front of me it has been ages since I cracked open a book and just sat silently reading for at least an hour. I think that we are all kind of guilty in this day and age of not reading enough. I remember those days when I could just lie in bed reading for hours, getting lost in the story and not caring that I was up until 3AM reading rather than being up until 2 or 3 playing games on Facebook! Ugh! I need to get back into it, especially since I recently acquired several new books (one brand new, three used) that definitely merit my opening them up to get lost in.

It is definitely a new life goal of mine to start reading more again and spending less time on social media, or rather less time doing nothing but clicking or getting lost in meaningless posting. I’m going to try to limit the time I spend online to work related (i.e. blogging, research for the magazines, digital art work, networking, etc.) goings on and only one hour of personal use. The rest of the time I want to focus on being a good wife, learning more about my future home in Dorset and just plain living life. I feel as though I have almost forgotten to live lately.

So, I can get two of those things done right from here in Florida at present by starting one of the many books I bought last month which combine reading and Dorset. I bought a couple of books by famed Dorset author, Thomas Hardy which I am eager to read. I’m told they’re not the happiest of books but I’m not interested in feeling elated so much as reading a great story by a great writer. Life isn’t always made of ‘happy’ moments, life can be rough and sometimes bleak but the happy moments help us through the rough patches. I’m more interested in getting into the nitty gritty of literature rather than just having that ‘feel good’ temporary euphoria going on. I’m not trying to live in illusions. So, the books are  Jude the Obscure and The Mayor of Casterbridge. I also bought Daniel Defoe’s Moll Flanders which I am rather looking forward to reading as well! What do you all think? Have any of you read these before? I’m curious to know who among my readers are avid literary fiends and love a good story. Well, that being said, come on y’all! Let’s read!

IMG_8349

 

Keep reading, keep smiling!

xoxo,

Nadia Marie

Title photo taken on location in A.Parker’s Books, Sarasota, FL.
Books in second photo were purchased at A. Parker’s Books.

 

One thought on “#Reading, #Life and #Dorset dreaming…

Leave a Reply

