A little bit of #watercolor inspiration…

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I am always looking for inspiring projects and ways to flex my creative mind so when I heard about pen pal journals I knew I had to make one to swap with one of my many pals. The recipient of the one I am working on right now is my pal Erin from NY and it has been a blast illustrating it! I’d been doing mostly ink drawings up until now. I decided yesterday to work with my little Koi watercolor travel set and play around with fall coloured leaves! The results are pictured above and below this text. I also experimented with drawing butterflies, inspired by a old calendar I found while rummaging my paper stash (yes, I have a small hoard of craft supplies full of paper bits and other odds and ends). Tomorrow I will show you the finished large butterfly illustration I did for Erin but I have included some small ones I drew and painted in to embellish the page I was writing on. Do you ever hand-draw and paint your embellishments on letters or cards and things? Just curious. Enjoy!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetMaterials Used:

*Sakura Micron Pens in Black ink #08, #03, and #02
*Sakura Koi Watercolour Pocket Field Sketch Box, Set of 12 colours

Special thanks to Alisa Burke through whom I was able to first come to know the Koi Watercolour Field Sketch boxes! Her blog is awesome and a constant inspiration to me!

 

Leave a Reply

