#Baking: #Dorset Apple Cake

DorsetAppleCake1A little while ago Alan sent me a couple of little recipe booklets he’d purchased in Dorset to further initiate me into life in that area as I will soon be joining him there. The recipe for Dorset Apple Cake caught my eye and, though I had planned on trying these recipes out upon returning to the UK, I found myself wanting to recreate this refreshing cake here in the US. So, I braved the Florida heat all day and in the evening as it cooled down I set my oven to the 375° mark to preheat it and got to working on my cake!

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset

I bought some beautiful Granny Smith Apples to use in this recipe and have decided that I will post the adaptation in American style measurements for my American followers to recreate at their leisure.

the recipe booklet

This was the booklet Alan sent me. Isn’t it cute?

Processed with VSCOcam with lv01 preset

So, gorgeous green Granny Smiths and we begin…

DORSET APPLE CAKE RECIPE
Adapted from Favourite Dorset Recipes: Traditional Country Fare by Amanda Persey

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup self-rising flour
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup super fine (caster) sugar
  • 1/2 lb cooking apples, peeled, cored and diced
  • grated rind of one lemon
  • 1 medium egg, beaten
  • 1/4 cup golden raisins (optional)

DIRECTIONS

Set oven to 375°. Sufficiently grease an 8 inch round cake tin. Put the flour into a large bowl and with your hands rub the butter into the flour until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs. Stir in the sugar, diced apple, lemon rind and egg and mix well. Add and stir in the golden raisins, if desired. Put the mixture into the cake tin and bake for 30 to 40 minutes until golden in color.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetThis cake is tart and delicious, can be served warm with cream or custard, or cold with butter for tea. I think I may need to make another one very soon!

ENJOY!

 

Linked up to: Share Your Cup Thursday #95

4 thoughts on “#Baking: #Dorset Apple Cake

  1. Pingback: #Variation on the #Dorset #Apple #Cake | Walks in Beauty

  2. Pingback: Dorset Apple Cake Recipe | Ace Food & Health News

    • Thank you Jann! When I get more organized I’ll do some more linky parties! I really enjoyed yours and found some wonderful blogs, beside you own lovely one of course, to peruse! Thanks again! xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

