Busy as a little bee…

Life got hectic in the short month of February and as you can see I only posted twice…not exactly my goal with this new blog but there never seems to be time in each day to do much of what I would like. Working a bit far from home sees me getting up very early and then getting home too late to get very creative. My mornings consist of taking the bus to Sarasota and hoping I don’t get hepatitis or something awful like that. It’s a different world when riding the city buses between Bradenton and Sarasota. I’ve snapped some photos with my iPhone during my travels to work each morning. Here are some of the urban shots I’ve been able to get:

IMG_1623

Aboard the bumpy bus…

IMG_1626

A mini walk from the bus brought me to one of my favorite places in Sarasota, Simply Spoiled Boutique.

IMG_1627

What’s left on Main Street of the old European Focus Village Shop…I miss that place…

Across the street during my short walk was the historic Kress Building.

Across the street during my short walk was the historic Kress Building.

Restaurant Salute, Downtown Sarasota still closed in the morning.

Restaurant Salute, Downtown Sarasota still closed in the morning.

 

On a separate occasion: a shot from the back of the bus.

On a separate occasion: a shot from the back of the bus.

Relics of an almost obsolete media platform: the newspaper machine at the bus stop by the college.

Relics of an almost obsolete media platform: the newspaper machine at the bus stop by the college.

"Nobody's Listening" by Sarasota-based sculptor Jack Cartlidge (1924-2006), Sarasota City Hall.

“Nobody’s Listening” by Sarasota-based sculptor Jack Cartlidge (1924-2006), Sarasota City Hall.

"Pioneer Family" by Jack Cartlidge, Sarasota City Hall.

“Pioneer Family” by Jack Cartlidge, Sarasota City Hall.

Looking up at "Pioneer Family" sculpture. City Hall is near the bus station.

Looking up at “Pioneer Family” sculpture. City Hall is near the bus station.

A little bit of color amongst the green.

A little bit of color amongst the green.

Beautiful pink hibiscus in the vicinity of Sarasota City Hall and the SCAT station.

Beautiful pink hibiscus in the vicinity of Sarasota City Hall and the SCAT station.

People waiting for their buses at the SCAT station, Downtown Sarasota.

People waiting for their buses at the SCAT station, Downtown Sarasota.

Urban addictions: Cigarette butts and religious paraphernalia.

Urban addictions: Cigarette butts and religious paraphernalia.

Remnants of where bus schedules were once housed.State College of Florida Bus Stop, Bradenton.

Remnants of where bus schedules were once housed.
State College of Florida Bus Stop, Bradenton.

At the Saturday Market in Downtown Sarasota as I waited for the #17 bus to get to work.

At the Saturday Market in Downtown Sarasota as I waited for the #17 bus to get to work.

This week promises to be interesting as well as I embark on a journey abroad to England. I look forward to posting from there and hope that it will be more frequent this month. Tomorrow is busy for me but I hope to get a trip to the museum in before heading across the pond.

Here’s to a beautiful week!

Leave a Reply

